This website uses cookies more



On March 20, 2019 the Senate of the Wrocław University set up members of the first Council of UWr which term was supposed to last from 1st of April 2019 to December 31st 2020. What were the duties of the Council, what tasks have left, how should University of Wrocław change, which direction should we follow – that and more will be mentioned during the meeting with the Council the following Friday at 2 o’clock.

The Council is composed of, pursuant to Resolution 11/2019 of the Senate of the Wrocław University, 9 members including 8 nominated by the Senate and the President of Students Self-government. The Senate nominated 4 members outside university community: Rafał Dutkiewicz, Wojciech Hanna, Jolanta Hoffman and Krzysztof Przybylski, as well as 4 members of the previously mentioned community: Jerzy Korczak, Maciej Kryza, Piotr Sorokowski and Eugeniusz Zych (Resolution 28/2019 of the Senate). Another member that was included in the Council was the President of Students Self-government, Damian Rychlik.

The Senate can nominate a member outside the university community to be the President of The Council. Jolanta Hoffman became the President of the first Council of University of Wrocław (Resolution 74/2019 of the Senate).

Here are all of the current members of the Council.

The Council, together with a chancellor and a senate, is the most important authority of a public university. As far as the duties of the Council are concerned, there are such duties as: reviewing a strategy project of a university and the report of carrying out the project, reviewing statue design, monitoring the university management, nominating the candidates for the position of the chancellor after they have been reviewed by the Senate. Moreover, the Council monitors the financial plan, approves its execution and approves the financial report of the university.

Talk with the former President of Wrocław, main businessmen and marvellous scientists of University of Wrocław. Ask your questions in the comment section of this post on YouTube or Facebook.

Translation by: Katarzyna Olejarz (IFA)

Published by: Tomasz Sikora

25 Nov 2020

last modification: 25 Nov 2020